In 2013, there were over 60,000 DUI arrests in Florida. Most people that have been arrested for a DUI are not sure what will happen, whether they will go to jail or just face a fine. Here are some facts about Florida DUI laws that can help answer some questions about what to expect with a DUI in Florida.
People often wonder if they will have to serve jail time if they are arrested for DUI in Florida. Yes, a DUI is a misdemeanor in the state of Florida and requires you to serve a minimum of six to nine months in jail. A second DUI offense requires you to serve nine months to a year, while a third and subsequent DUI offense requires you to serve a minimum of a year.
Your driving licence is also affected if you are convicted of DUI in Florida. A first DUI offense will result in a 180 days to a year licence suspension. A second DUI offense results in a year licence suspension, and a third DUI offense results in a 10 year licence suspension.
The final outcome of your DUI offense is based off your BAC, sobriety tests, and other key factors. BAC stands for Blood Alcohol Content, the legal BAC limit in florida is 0.08%. If your BAC is over the legal limit of 0.08%, you will be arrested for a DUI offense in Florida. Sobriety tests such as the One Leg Stand, Walk & Turn, and Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus are commonly used by police officers to determine if a driver is impaired.